data crystals: 5D optical memory in glass

 

The image shows the digital data recorded into 5-D optical data storage.

The image shows the digital data recorded into 5-D optical data storage.

Credit: University of Southampton

5D optical memory in glass could record the last evidence of civilization.

in 20-30 years memory crystals will be the norm for data storage.

(I will have to change all my collection of movie DVDs and Blue Rays again, but at least I know I will never loose data again, ever…)

science fiction is again the inspiration for the latest advancements in technology. I’m still waiting for my flying car…

Leave a Reply

